At the annual RaboDirect PRO12 Awards evening held at the weekend at Clontarf Castle in Dublin, Rhino awarded two prizes - the Rhino Golden Boot Award to the goalkicker with the highest percentage success rate, and the Rhino Collision Kings Award to the side showing the most effective technique and performance at the breakdown in the regular PRO12 season ahead of the play-offs. Rhino CEO Reg Clark presented Ian Madigan of Leinster with the Golden Boot Award for his 86.96% performance. Remarkably, he was tied with Leigh Halfpenny of the Cardiff Blues who achieved exactly the same percentage success, but with markedly fewer attempts at goal; Madigan winning accordingly. Ian follows Jonathan Sexton of Leinster who won last year, and was placed fourth this time. Donal McEvoy of Rhino Ireland presented Simon Easterby, Head Coach of the Llanelli Scarlets with the Rhino Collision King Award. The Scarlets edged out last year's winners Glasgow Warriors in the view of judge and Rhino Collision King inventor Richie Gray when they comprehensively outplayed the Warriors at the breakdown in a recent victory which clinched their play off place. The RaboDirect PRO12 play offs begin tonight with Ulster playing the Scarlets at Ravenhill in Belfast, and tomorrow Leinster playing Glasgow Warriors at the Royal Dublin Showgrounds. The final is scheduled for Saturday 25th May at the RDS. It's been another great season for the RaboDirect PRO12 and with 26 out of 38 Lions selected playing in the tournament and SKY Sports announced as beginning coverage of 30 live games plus play offs for 4 years from the 2014-15 season, it looks set to go from strength to strength.
Ian Madigan of Leinster with the Rhino Golden Boot Award   Simon Easterby of the Llanelli Scarlets  Rhino Collision King Award
Reg Clark presents Ian Madigan of Leinster with the Rhino Golden Boot Award.   Donal McEvoy presents the Rhino Collision Kings Award to Simon Easterby of the Llanelli Scarlets

The Rhino Golden Boot Award - RaboDirect PRO12 2012/13

Name Team Good Att Kick%
Ian Madigan Leinster 60 69 86.96 (Scored Last 21)
Leigh Halfpenny Cardiff Blues 20 23 86.96
Matthew Morgan Ospreys 32 37 86.49
Jonathan Sexton Leinster 41 48 85.42 (Scored Last 17)
Ronan O'Gara Munster 33 40 82.50
Tagged: 2013 news rabodirect